BBC reported about Facebook Removing Stalker Applications and that they are “aggressively disabling” applications that claim to allow users to see who has been viewing their profile.
In a statement, Facebook said
“Don’t believe any applications that claim they can show you who’s viewing your profile or photo. They can’t.”
Obviously, these bogus applications were created to make some cash through advertising revenue.
Last month while I was browsing my News Feed, I saw a link about the Top 10 Friends who views your profile. Intrigued with that apps, I clicked and allowed it to access my information. To my surprise it started ‘writing’ on my 10 Friends’ wall saying “You’re viewing my profile. Your rank: 2, blah…. blah”
I wasnt even asked if I want it to be posted on my Friends’ wall! I deleted the generated wall posts immediately, crossing my fingers that those friends wont be able to read it. I thought I was quick enough. Few seconds later, I received an email from a friend, who happened to be online at that time. Shocks! She’s asking why she’s on the Top 10 list when she haven’t viewed my profile yet??!!. Ouch! So I apologized and told her what happened. And we just laughed it off.
Just two weeks ago, I received this tag,
I don’t remember viewing her profile on that day or week but I did comment on her wall post once. I wonder why it’s counted as viewing profile already.
I don’t like these kinds of apps coz they’re not accurate! And why do they have to rank and list them and publish on the wall? Can’t it just be ‘between you and me?’ Just like in Friendster, you can view who’s viewing your profile but you’re the only one who can see it. Not unless you’re viewing profiles anonymously.
I do check my friends’ profile once in a while. What’s wrong with that? I even check my non-friends’ profile, hehe! I view pending friends’ profile first before I accept their request. If their profiles are restricted, I’ll view it again once approved.
If you’re friends with anyone in Facebook, of course that person has access to your profile. Why would you add me if you don’t want me to view your profile anyway? You can use privacy settings to restrict others from accessing valuable information. For instance, my contact number and address can only be seen by my relatives list.
And since Facebook said these stalker applications doesn’t work, I can view my friends’ profiles to my heart’s content without them knowing it… but hey! now you know! 😀