Friendster Spam Message
Posted on Saturday, July 12, 2008 at 12:53 am
Filed under Friendster • Personal
Tags: Friendster Spam
Have you received a message from any of your friends in Friendster with the title Hola, Letting You Know and New Friendster App to name a few? Well, don’t open it. I bet your friends are not even aware they sent you such messages.
Hola,
I miss you ,
I hope you miss me as much as i miss you.
Check out my friendster cam profile…
http://friendsterca*********Hello,
I haven’t talked you in a long time,
How are you doing?
Check out my friendster cam profile…
http://easyprofiles**********
My first notion was not to open the link because I smell something fishy. But for the hard-headed me, I thought what if my friend just want to share it? What if it’s not really spam? So I clicked it! When I saw that I was being redirected to a different URLwith blackbook and 3Xs, I immediately closed the browser before it loads the site. I already guessed where that link is leading me. I should have listened to myself when I said I should not click it. Silly, stubborn me!
As of today, I received 5 or more similar messages from 3 different profiles. I just wonder how ‘they’ sent those messages. We’re they infected with whatever virus? What if “I am” sending others with the same messages too?
Amor replied on September 3rd, 2008 at 6:33 pm
Hi Stephen. No I don’t have any solution to stop those SPAM. I can’t stop it if it’s from Friendster. Just don’t visit the link, ignore and delete. Friendster may have done something about it already. I haven’t received any SPAM since July.
Stephen replied on September 5th, 2008 at 1:24 am
I sent several e-mails to the help@friendster.com. They did help me to stop this. The reason for this
Friendster SPAM e-mail is their registration system leak . Anyone can use any e-mail(real/fake) for registration in the Friendster web site. However, they DON’T REQUIRE ANY E-MAIL VERIFICATION/VALIDATION. So, someone use my e-mail address to register Friendster. Then, I’m the one who kept receiving those Friendster e-mails.
Amor replied on September 5th, 2008 at 2:18 am
I tried to search for your email add in friendster and found someone with the name hktatsu ay. If you didn’t register yourself, maybe you can still do something to delete that account.